FILLING YOU UP WITH EVERYTHING GOOD IN NORWICH EACH MONTH

Music > Live Reviews
LAU

LAU

Wednesday, February 20th 2019

Lau are, to paraphrase a Guardian review, one of the most musically adventurous bands exploring the outer edges of folk

Read full Article >

The Joy Formidable

Wednesday, February 13th 2019

Read full Article

Fun Loving' Criminals

Monday, February 11th 2019

Tonight, Huey Morgan is definitely 'the man', and Fun Lovin' Criminals do what they do best – leave their audience hungry for more

Read full Article

DE STAAT & 45ACIDBABIES

Thursday, February 7th 2019

To say that De Staat have a diverse sound taking in a wide range of genres is, if anything, understating it.

Read full Article

Tim Burgess

Wednesday, February 6th 2019

Burgess’ music seems to be overwhelmingly upbeat, partnering neat little guitar riffs with his recognisable singing voice

LUCIA, THE LANES, HEX FRIENDS, HONEY & CURRENT BOND

Tuesday, February 5th 2019

I first saw Lucia support Sleeper at this very venue. I was blown away then. If anything, they have come back stronger....

Gyða Valtysdóttir - Epicycle

Thursday, January 31st 2019

What is so inspiring about Valtýsdottir is her ability to take other peoples music as merely the starting point for what she creates

Focus

Sunday, January 27th 2019

Mastodon

Sunday, January 27th 2019

The Neutrinos

Sunday, January 27th 2019

Algiers & Sink Ya Teeth

Sunday, January 13th 2019

Algiers - 2019 has started with an absolute bang with tonight’s show… Sink Ya Teeth Tonight, the sound isstill the 80s inflected, hard electropop that I have fallen ...

FAINTEST IDEA, NOSEBLEED & CASUAL NAUSEA

Sunday, December 23rd 2018

Casual Nausea their sound takes in early Crass, Paranoid Visions and Subhumans, with maybe a touch of Half Man Half Biscuit in some of the guitar lines Nosebleeds The live show is, if anything, even better than that LP. On record, to me at least, the band come across as old school Rock ‘n’ Roll colliding with maximum R ‘n’ B Fanitest Idea Faintest Idea do deliver a cracker of a set,,

Midwinter Moonshine

Sunday, December 23rd 2018

With Lucy Grubb, The Hanging Stars, The Vagaband, Steve Arlene, Hot Raisin and Borderline in the Bar

Steve Harley and Cockney Rebel

Friday, December 21st 2018

'True musicians do not have a choice', he muses, 'we just have to keep on writing and performing. It is what we do'. Well evidenced at this gig

Quireboys & Bad Touch

Friday, December 14th 2018

Andrew O'Neill's Black Magick Fun Hour

Tuesday, December 11th 2018

808 State

Monday, December 10th 2018

Sadly at 10pm it was over, when it felt like we were just starting.

Molly Hatchet

Monday, December 10th 2018

DUCKING PUNCHES, SPANISH LOVE SONGS & WE BLESS THIS MESS

Monday, December 10th 2018

From the off, the crowd are putty in Allen’s (Ducking Punches) hands and the band can do no wrong

UK Subs & Members

Sunday, December 9th 2018

The Subs are still one of the best - and certainly one of the most reliable - live bands to come out of punk.

PVMNTS

Sunday, December 9th 2018

When PVMNTS entered the stage, it was with boundless energy

Operation : Mindcrime

Thursday, December 6th 2018

The Studio was packed, and as the lights went down I immediately felt myself perk up.

MAARJA NUUT & RUUM, ARHAI

Wednesday, December 5th 2018

It all gels incredibly well and it is clear that the duo are enjoying playing together.

From The Jam + Nine Below Zero

Monday, December 3rd 2018

Tom Grennan

Monday, December 3rd 2018

Coasts + Only the Poets

Monday, December 3rd 2018

Saint Raymond

Monday, December 3rd 2018

Stick in The Wheel

Saturday, December 1st 2018

I have been fortunate enough to have visited the Cambridge Folk Festival on two occasions on behalf of Outline and they were brilliant days of sublime music. Pick of my trip in 2016 were Stick In The Wheel, and I’ve been impatiently waiting for them to visit Norwich ever since.

Theatre Of Hate

Thursday, November 29th 2018

So what did I think? Well, it was good but not excellent and I can’t really put my finger on why I did not enjoy it more.

Miles Kane

Tuesday, November 27th 2018

Even before the house lights dimmed the crowd had started up a chant of 'Miles, Miles - Miles Fucking Kane'

Shame + Sorry + Fontaines D.C.

Tuesday, November 27th 2018

Gilmore & Roberts

Tuesday, November 27th 2018

Their voices fit together perfectly  and are also comfortable taking lead, usually on their own compositions. But when you listen to the lyrics of each song you realise that the inspiration often comes from a very specific source.....

Pigeon Detectives

Monday, November 26th 2018

Jessie J

Saturday, November 24th 2018

Whether you are a fan of Jessie or not remains a matter of individual taste, but from what I saw and heard tonight the new material deserves a serious listen – her voice is strong and confident, and the songs are a million miles away from the frothy pop of 2011

Hawklords

Friday, November 23rd 2018

Slaves

Friday, November 23rd 2018

Soft Machine

Thursday, November 22nd 2018

When a band that originally formed in 1966 changes its name four times......Yet I really should not be worried

The Damned

Thursday, November 22nd 2018

Two things gave this year’s tour an extra edge of anticipation – firstly they are promoting their first new album in 10 years Evil Spirits, and secondly bassist Paul Gray has re-joined the band, having initially spent three successful years with them starting in 1980.

Camille O'Sullivan

Tuesday, November 20th 2018

Deacon Blue

Tuesday, November 20th 2018

The band are currently on a celebratory tour of the UK, and Sunday night at the Theatre Royal was their first visit to Norwich since playing here in 2013.