FILLING YOU UP WITH EVERYTHING GOOD IN NORWICH EACH MONTH

Music > Live Reviews

Uriah Heep + Diamond Head

Friday, December 6th 2019

The evening inevitably finished on a rousing encore of Easy Livin’ (proving not that every song had to be tricky to be good) and the band grinning from ear to ear as they played. It only served to consolidate the abiding impression throughout, of the strong bond between the men on stage, delighted that they still got to do this for a living.

Beak> & The Hysterical Injury

Tuesday, December 3rd 2019

Comet Is Coming + Leaftcutter John

Tuesday, December 3rd 2019

Sports Team + Alfie Templeman

Friday, November 22nd 2019

The Amazons - Demob Happy - Mysterines

Thursday, November 21st 2019

Guitar music is by no means dead. It has just been resting.

THE HOT CLUB OF COWTOWN

Saturday, November 16th 2019

You know you have witnessed a great gig at the Arts Centre when the security have been clappin’ and hollerin’ with as much, if not more, enthusiasm as anyone opinion the audience!

Jade Bird - Annabel Allum - Mosa Wild

Friday, November 15th 2019

If I was going to recommend anyone to go see this year it would be Jade Bird. She opened with the first song on the new album “Ruins”, a song that epitomises her unique blend of vulnerability, powerful grungy vocals and country guitar

Feeder

Tuesday, November 12th 2019

The new material, in particular Kite, Tallulah, and Guillotine come over really well besides the classic Feeder material High, Feeling A Moment, Just The Way I’m Feeling, Come Back Around, Just The Way I’m Feeling, Comfort In Sound and of course Buck Rogers.

Kate Tempest

Saturday, November 9th 2019

After taking their bows together, she and Clare Uchima leave the stage, and an audience that has just given them the biggest, most rapturous, ovation that I can ever remember hearing at the LCR.

THE BLOODSHAKE CHORUS & THE MEN THAT WON’T BE BLAMED FOR NOTHING

Thursday, November 7th 2019

What a night.

Phil Campbell & The Bastard Sons - King Creature

Tuesday, November 5th 2019

..it was with some trepidation that I went along to see him play with his Bastard Sons, and I desperately wanted to like what I found.  What a pleasure it is, therefore, to report what a great band they are....

CLOWN SMASH EVERYTHING, I SAID GOODBYE & SUCKING GRUNTS

Saturday, November 2nd 2019

Musically, Clown Smash Everything are hard, fast, heavy and intense, combining the best elements of hardcore, metal and desert rock.

Wild Paths Festival

Friday, November 1st 2019

What a weekend see Pavlis' journey, suffice to say ...his closing words "Here’s hoping there is more of the same next year (and that I manage to get my bike fixed between now and then). Kudos to Ben and the team for putting it together."

The Membranes + Other Half + Skint and Demoralised

Monday, October 28th 2019

The band was uniformly excellent....

Icicle Works

Sunday, October 27th 2019

Take my advice people. Next time he is in the fine City, make an effort to go and see him, if you can get a ticket.

[UNIT] Reach The Moon

Saturday, October 26th 2019

Reach The Moon, managed to achieve what many others have tried and failed to do – to recreate the excitement and overwhelming sense of achievement that emerged from that historic moment on July 20th, 1969

Hot Chip and Rosie Lowe

Friday, October 25th 2019

They may have been around for almost two decades, and may not have visited Norwich for a while but, judging by tonight's show, Hot Chip have certainly not gone off the boil.

Swim Deep + Phoebe Wood

Wednesday, October 23rd 2019

Wild Paths Festival

Tuesday, October 22nd 2019

Was Wild Paths 2019 a success? Well, you had better believe it. With its incredibly ambitious goals for a first year, booking a ridiculously rich array of artists and venues, but by galvanising a fantastic team of organisers and volunteers, somehow Ben Street had pulled it off – four days and nights of remarkable shows that reinforced Norwich's position on the musical map, and gave the city's music fans plenty to talk about for months to come. Thank you, Ben.

Heavy Lungs - Wild Paths

Sunday, October 20th 2019

Hawklords

Saturday, October 19th 2019

The gentlemen of Hawklords have long since been able to stand on their own feet, a comfortable distance from their Hawkwind association as they prolifically pump out freshly minted material that continues to impress

Easy Life

Wednesday, October 16th 2019

Snapped Ankles

Wednesday, October 16th 2019

Inhaler

Wednesday, October 16th 2019

Black Flag

Monday, October 14th 2019

Acid mothers Temple - Our Quiet Friends

Sunday, October 13th 2019

Acid Mother Temple are a quite extraordinary genre-defying ensemble of talented Japanese musicians that from the outset delivered  a wall of thunderous sound that was energising, uplifting and just a bit bonkers

Gary Numan

Friday, October 11th 2019

I’ve only seen him live once before and again, I was struck by what an energetic performer he is, not at all the aloof persona I expected.

Oxjam 2019

Sunday, October 6th 2019

Richard Hawley - Get Cape Wear Cape Fly

Saturday, October 5th 2019

This was a precious evening of magnificent songwriting, professionalism and performance, all served up by one of Sheffield's finest.

Deepdale Festival

Tuesday, October 1st 2019

if you are looking for a friendly and extremely well-organised weekend that offers an eclectic mix of music that makes you want to dance, makes you want to cry, and sometimes just makes you go want to go 'wow!', then Deepdale is it

Kevin Kendall's Deep Skies Experience

Wednesday, September 25th 2019

Visit most of the various musical venues in Norwich, and I’ll warrant you will do so with a preconception of the kind of act you’re going to see. The exception is surely Epic Studios, frequently playing host to the eccentric and undefinable that doesn’t easily fit in anywhere else

FolkEast 2019

Thursday, August 22nd 2019

Johnny Marr

Friday, July 26th 2019

FolkEast 2019: Preview

Monday, July 15th 2019

Part Chimp + Other Lady + Lady Di

Sunday, July 7th 2019

Solana + Nebula Sun

Saturday, July 6th 2019

This was indeed an evening of wide-ranging musical delights, when the sun really did come out and shine

Sharon Van Etten

Tuesday, July 2nd 2019

During the course of the evening we get a chance to hear each and every one of the album's ten track

Starcrawler + Plague Vendor

Monday, July 1st 2019

The Stereophonics

Tuesday, June 25th 2019

It’s funny y’know, as the film industry looks to highlight the careers of Freddie Mercury in ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ and Elton John in ‘Rocketman’, I measure that no-one will ever be making a film about Kelly Jones. With 6 number one albums (only one fewer than Queen), a legacy of searingly honest songs in his catalogue, an accomplished guitar and piano player, I feel like we’ve witnessed one of the bastions of British music tonight. But Hollywood need not call – there’s 9000 of us in a forest in Suffolk that already know it.

Altered Images + Pin Ups

Sunday, June 23rd 2019